Back to Polymer Clay

I’ve been busy trolling Michael’s waiting for another good sale.  The kind of sale where polymer clay goes for $.99.  It had come a couple of weeks back but I was eyeing other items for the sale, so I made do with 20 bars.  Now I’m getting ready to experiment on souvenirs for my niece’s first birthday in September, and from the looks of what I’m going to try to do, I’m going to need a bar for each souvenir.

I’m also surfing the web for owls and have found some rather interesting owl images.  Still, it looks like I’ll be doing the same pattern I had eyed from the very start.  Invitation and souvenir both.  The tricky thing is that I want to use my Spellbinder to cut the invitation.  While an owl die cut is not available for my Spellbinders Grand Calibur Die Cutting Machine, I’m hoping to do some magic with other shapes and I’m eagerly awaiting the arrival of my dies to see if it can be pulled off.  If it can’t, then I have more dies to use for next time. 

In the meantime, I’ve started conditioning some polymer clay.  I like doing them by hand instead of through the machine because then I get a full sense of the pliability of the clay.   I’m going to try and experiment with creating canes along the way, hopefully to use as embellishments for some fancy owls.  (Not the one for the party, though.)

Watch out for more!

Leave a Reply

