Back to my altered book

My Altered Book resurrectedI started this project in September 2012 with the goal in mind of preparing an altered book I could journal on later. It was supposed to be my “happiness” project where I was going to put together happiness quotes for personal inspiration. I worked on it continuously for the second half of 2012 until the holidays came and it found a place in one of my bins where it’s been for most of 2013.

I fished it out yesterday and started writing in it.

I was almost tempted to start another journal until I remembered this one. Most of it’s pages are done in acrylic paint because this was way before I discovered Alcohol Ink and Distress Ink Pad and Tim Holtz. It should be fun experimenting with the techniques I have learned since then. 

A lot has changed since I started the journal and I still have around 15 layouts to do, but I am all psyched to start the writing and embellishing part.  While my state of mind (and state of heart) at the time I started this journal compared to now that I’m picking it up again are worlds apart, the fact that  I hope to get to a better and happier place remains the same.

I’m hoping it will help me get back to Julie Fei-Fan Balzer’s Art Journal Every Day project as well.  I actually participated in 2012 and had a whole section/page going on my other blog, but the new version of my personal blog Pinay New Yorker has it hidden for now. 

Getting there!

Leave a Reply

