Celebrate Life through Art Journaling

UntitledI often find myself drooling over Art journal entries done by others, more so since I find myself doing more actual journaling than art. But I am learning to let my creative energy loose and hoping that words will figure less and I will be more visual.

I want my colors and doodles to speak the emotions I feel, or to help me remember the feelings when I leaf through my book.

I’m not quite finished with the entries for this layout yet, so I’m just focusing on one part of the page speaking about “Celebrating Life”.

I kept leafing through my altered book’s pages last night, and an idea hit me minutes to midnight which made me grab one of the many signpens in my bag. I am doing the lyrics of a song I listen to over and over again these days, and I scribbled the phrases in the bare pages of maybe 4 layouts. I colored in one before I finally turned out which came out pretty well. It’s a whole new process because I’m letting the ink bleed through, after which I will “cover” the reverse side with color.


I’m not too worried that I am not working in sequence.  The book, after all, need only make sense to me.  I brought the book home last night and left it there, and I’m looking forward to doing some work on it even as we go on a long weekend to Atlantic City.  (Thanks to Martin Luther King, Jr.!)

Another way for us to celebrate life.. for me to celebrate life.. =)

One thought on “Celebrate Life through Art Journaling

Leave a Reply

