Craft shopping in New York City: Envelopper

It’s one of those “finds” which is akin to a little girl stumbling into a heretofore unknown candy store and you see all the goodies inside and gawk. Then you stop resisting and decide you MUST go in.

I saw what looked like art related materials for paper crafting, and I couldn’t even see a real sign. It turns out that the name of the store was painted on the farthest window display which I didn’t actually see until I was leaving the area. They’re called Envelopper and have a wide variety of paper stock for cards, stationery and envelopes primarily. But they are more than just a paperie or paper store. Besides providing supplies for the brave and enterprising who would rather do their invitations themselves, they offer a full-range of printing options for those who would like to entrust that to the experts.

NYC: Envelopper - quite the paper store

They also have a wide selection of writing tools (i.e., fountain pens and markers) and inks. On the papercrafting side, they have a whole section devoted to boxes and other such containers, embellishments and a wide assortment of beautiful gifts.
NYC: Envelopper - quite the paper store

They have stickers and journals galore and one thing that I really drew me to stay and linger was that they sold Christian Lacroix Journals.(See the shelf on the right side.)
NYC: Envelopper - quite the paper store
I had first encountered these gorgeous journals at the departure lounge of one of the international terminals of JFK Airport in December, and I couldn’t help but swoon over the gorgeous cover designs and paper inside. They came in different sizes and thicknesses to suit the different tastes of journalers and diary keepers — and I would have snapped one up but I couldn’t make up my mind about which one I would actually grab and the bigger ones were both pricey and heavy. (Do I really want to spend $50 on a journal?)

Journals by Christian Lacroix

They came in different sizes and thicknesses to suit the different tastes of journalers and diary keepers — and I would have snapped one up but I couldn’t make up my mind about which one I would actually grab and the bigger ones were both pricey and heavy. (Do I really want to spend $50 on a journal? Yet they had the smaller journals which were around $20.)

Journals by Christian Lacroix

Pity that I was in the hurry to get back to the office.  I was curious about the various embellishments lining shelves and walls of the front portion of the store.

NYC: Envelopper - quite the paper store

These GelGems are a curious embellishment I’d love to give a try one of these days.  However I was drawn to the postcards and the journals.  Time was runnning out.  I am also very curious about their printable magnet sheets in different shapes and sizes.  Hmmmmm… perfect souvenir for those planning a party or as a DIY project for Moms like me with tons of pictures to share and post.

I managed to grab some fuschia pink card stock and a bunch of ocre envelopes in the appropriate size which were half off.  (Talk about a weird combination) I hope to use the card stock with my Spellbinders Grand Calibur which was been hibernating in its box for quite a while now.  Can’t wait!

I am definitely going back to the Envelopper very soon.  You’ll find them on 45 W 21st Street between 5th and 6th Avenue in the Chelsea/Gramercy/Flat Iron area.

Leave a Reply

