De-stashing and upcycling

Promises should be kept, I know. I had promised to post more regularly but everything has been moving rather simultaneously in the different facets of my world. It has been a struggle but I haven’t quite given up yet on reviving this space.

Spring is gone, and summer is here.

While I have successfully gone back to creating and selling on Etsy, I need to step up the posting and the creating, while indulging my continuing experimentation and organizing.

Work in Progress: learning my way around a hammerThe good news is, I’m beginning to use up my stash and I’ve found a new way of creating findings by using my hammered wire. I’m also working on being braver with stringing and I’m looking to do more of that in the coming weeks. So while I haven’t posted much here, I have been doing a lot of experimentation and crafting as far as the shop is concerned. There are nights when I don’t realize how I’ve let the time pass me by as I sit working in my craft corner, and before I know it, it’s past midnight already!

Crafting has always calmed me and has helped me to bring myself to a quiet place where I can think more clearly.  Maybe that’s why I get so absorbed in the creating process and I lose myself in it.

I’m also trying to upcycle this ton of freecards (advertising postcards) that have been stocked in my attic forever.  I’m doing a “Thank You” project that will utilize them but I’d like to leave it at that for now.  That should help me move my supplies which have been sitting untouched here and in the office.  I’m trying to sort what I need and what I don’t, and trying to find new uses for what I have.

I have always had a love affair with paper and it has never been easy for me to throw it away. But things can’t stay as “supplies” forever! Yesterday, I fished out some color photocopies of some watercolor backgrounds I did maybe two years ago and pasted and cut them as postcard backgrounds. The originals had gone into my first art journal. I have also printed off some choice photos from my portfolio and I do a mod podge process which turns them into a canvas-like texture print. (To do or not do a tutorial on that…. It’s not really rocket science!)

So there.. I hope to post more but let me hit publish on this one so I can get the blog rolling…

 

 

Leave a Reply

